2022 All-UP boys basketball awards announced: E-TC’s Borseth and coach Besonen receives top prizes | News, sports, jobs

Courtesy Photo / MHSAA Ewen-Trout Creeks Jaden Borseth (30) tries to shoot while being defended by Wyoming Tri-unitys Hanif James (34) during the MHSAA Division 4 state championship on Saturday in East Lansing. Borseth was named Mr. UP Basketball by the Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association late last week.

MARQUETTE – The Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (UPSSA) met last week to select the 2021-22 All-UP boys’ basketball awards.

Ewen-Trout Creeks Jaden Borseth was named Mr. UP Basketball. Borseth averaged more than 18 points per game with an average of five rebounds. He led the Panthers to the MHSAA Division 4 state championship game, where they fell short in overtime with a 56-45 loss to the Wyoming Tri-Unity Christian.

Appropriately, Ewen-Trout Creek (23-4) was named Division 4 Team of the Year, and Panthers coach Brad Besonen was named Division 4 Coach of the Year.

Jeffers Jets senior Johnny Schutz was honored as a member of the All-UP Dream Team. Schutz averaged nearly 20 points per game, shooting 44 percent from three-point range. Lake Linden-Hubbell’s Marcus Sutherland and Houghton’s Mikko Salmi both achieved honors on second teams in their respective divisions.

Mr. UP Basketball: Jaden Borseth, Ewen-Trout Creek

Player of the Year in Division 1-3: Aidan Bellisle, Menominee

Player of the Year in Division 4: Jaden Borseth, Ewen-Trout Creek

Division 1-2 Team of the year: Escanaba

Division 3 Team of the Year: Menominee

Division 4 Team of the Year: Ewen-Trout Creek

Division 1-3 Coach of the Year: Sam Larson, Menominee

Division 4 Coach of the Year: Brad Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek

Division 1-3

Dream Team

Jaden Borseth, Ewen-Trout Creek

Zach Carlson, Westwood

Aidan Bellisle, Menominee

Colin Hudson, Escanaba

Johnny Schutz, Jeffers

First team

Oskar Kangas, Iron Mountain

Nic Nora, Kingsford

Jonas Bicik, Marquette

Zach Beckman, Westwood

Brady Schultz, Menominee

Second team

Cooper Conway, Menominee

Jayce Kipling, Ishpeming

Jordan DeMay, Marquette

Jared Hanson, Escanaba

Jonny Ingalls, St. Ignace

Mikko Salmi, Houghton

Marcus Boase, Westwood

David Eberhard, Marquette

Gerald Johnson, Negaunee

Brady Badker, Menominee

Honorable Mention: Trevor Brown, Escanaba; AJ Miley, Bark River-Harris; Caleb Stieler, Gwinn; Brody Bell, Negaunee; Joey Colavecchi, Iron Mountain; Levi Frahm, Jeffers; Preston Gauthier, Ishpeming; Logan Getzloff, Bark River-Harris; Kaden Gibbs, Gladstone; Trevor Lippens, Bark River-Harris; AJ Prosser, Ishpeming; Mason Sager, Negaunee; Connor Smale, Escanaba; Brody Waara, Menominee; Kevin Frazier, St. Ignace

Division 4

First team

Eric Abramson, Ewen-Trout Creek

Tate Besteman, Rudyard

Luke Gorzinski, North Central

EJ Suggitt, Rudyard

Kyle Sørensen, Wakefield-Marenisco

Second team

Kelsey Jilek, Ewen-Trout Creek

Claudio Bistolfi, Newberry

Jesse Duran, Munising

Nolan Amundsen, Norway

Jack Matrella, Bessemer

Mike Englund, Central Peninsula

Marcus Sutherland, Lake Linden-Hubbell

Brendan Polkky, Ewen-Trout Creek

Cason Smith, Cedarville-DeTour

Connor Florenski, North Central

Honorable Mention: Brady Anderson, North Central; Spencer Coldron, Stephenson; Rease Dawley, Rapid River; Shawn Gibbons, L’Anse; Peyton Imhoff, Carney-Nadeau; Von Lyons, Ironwood; Grady Newland, Brimley; Cam Peterson, Rudyard; Gaven Rintala, Forest Park; Ian Sundling, Rapid RiverKevin Giuliani, Forest Park; Luis Alloza, Stephenson; Aiden Boyd, Ironwood; Zach Frusti, Superior Central; Kodey Goldi, Rapid River; Antonio Inglese, North Dickinson; Jerry Lee LaFord, Carney-Nadeau; Trenton Naser, North Central; Aidan Ondrus, Cedarville-DeTour; Alec Ortman, Norway; Eli Ostermeyer, L’Anse; Michael Peterson, Norway; Jesse Sampson, North Central; Zack Schwartz, Stephenson; Jonah Nordine, Ewen-Trout Creek.

Today’s latest news and more in your inbox


Leave a Comment