AHSAA Announces Lists for North-South All-Star Basketball Teams

Lists for the 2022 AHSAA North-South All-Star Girls ‘and Boys’ Basketball Games were announced Tuesday by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

The basketball games will be played as part of All-Star Week in Montgomery in conjunction with the AHSAA Summer Conference to be held on 18-22. July. All-star games will also be played in baseball, softball, volleyball, football, cross country, tennis and golf. The football All-Star Match was played in December in Mobile.

Coaches for the North girls basketball team are Natasha Smallwood, Susan Moore; Melissa Bennett, Oxford; and Brant Llewellyn, Lauderdale County, who will be the administrative coach for both North squads. The South Girls will be coached by Melissa White, Pike County; Willie Morgan, Selma; and Robb McGaughey, LAMP, administrative coach for both South teams.

The North boys’ coaches are Denton Johnson from Ramsay and Bret Waldrep from Covenant Christian. South boys’ coaches are Shane Colquhoun from Loachapoka and Shumbe Hunter from Williamson.

The basketball all-star teams consist of 15 growing seniors and have several players competing in state championship matches in 2022. Five girls players on the North team played in the title fights: Class 7A MVP Reniya Kelly and all-state tournament selection Alanah Spooner by State champion Hoover; Class 5A MVP Olivia Vandergriff by Master Guntersville; all-state tournament players Nyla Collier from 6A champion Hazel Green; Chloe Siegal from Class 4A Champion Deshler; Kallie Tinker of Class 2A State Champion Pisgah; and Cali Smallwood, daughter of North all-star coach and a standout for 3A state runner-up Susan Moore.

The Southern team features two starters from double 3A state champion Prattville Christian – Hannah Jones and CoCo Thomas, who have selected the entire tournament. Others who played in Birmingham in the final are McGill-Toolen Catholic’s Lindsay Cox (6A); Taylah Murph-Dowdell of Loachapoka (1A); Ella Vallas from St. Paul’s Episcopal (5A); Kaelyn Hall of St. James (4A); and Kendall Lacoste of University Charter School (1A). Six players competing in Birmingham are on the boys team, three on each team. For the North, 4A state tourney MVP Cade Phillips and ASWA Class 4A Player of the Year John Broom – both by champion Jacksonville; and 5A all-state tournament pick Kerrington Kiel of 5A runner-up Ramsay. The southern squad has Jaden Nixon, who started for 2021 the state champion and 2022 the semifinalist Autaugaville and two from the 2A semifinalist Highland Home, Keldric Faulk and Terrin Brown.

The complete 2022 All-Star basketball lists with school, position and height:


Hope West, AP Brewer, G / F, 5-10

Tyla Tatum, Collinsville, G / F, 5-9

Chloe Siegel, Deshler, G, 5-7

Olivia Vandergriff, Guntersville, G, 5-9

Nyla Collier, Hazel Green, G, 5-8

April Hooks, Hewitt-Trussville, G, 5-8

Audreonia Benson, Hewitt-Trussville, G, 5-7

Reniya Kelly, Hoover, G, 5-7

Alanah Pooler, Hoover, C, 6-1

Ruthie Smith, Lauderdale County, C, 6-1

Jaylen Pleasant, Mortimer Jordan, PG, 5-4

Kallie Tinker, Pisgah, G, 5-4

Briley Merrill, Ranburne, PG, 5-11

Kennedy Langham, Sparkman, G, 5-8

Cali Smallwood, Susan Moore, G, 5-8


Destiny Johnson, Central, Phenix City, F, 6-1

Iyauna Gordy, Eufaula, G, 5-5

Kellyn Hunter, Faith Academy, P / G, 5-5

JoVala Ocean, Greenville, P / G, 5-2

Naomi Jones, Jackson, C, 6-3

Timya Thurman, Linden, C, 6-4

Taylah Murph-Dowdell, Loachapoka, P / G, 5-5

Khashya Richardson, Luverne, P / G, 5-4

Lindsey Cox, McGill-Toolen, G, 5-3

Lameria “CoCo” Thomas, Prattville Christian, K, 5-11

Hannah Jones, Prattville Christian, F, 6-2

Kaelyn Hall, Saint James, G, 5-7

Ella Vallas, St. Paul’s, F, 6-2

Emma Kate Smith, Trinity, G, 5-9

Kendall Lacoste, University Charter, P / G, 5-7


Paul Lanzi, Chelsea, G, 6-3

Jordyn Turner-Durley, Florence, G, 6-2

RJ Johnson, Grissom, W, 6-4

Drake James, Haleyville, G, 6-3

William Collins, Holy Spirit, F, 6-3

Jamari Arnold, Huntsville, G, 5-9

John Broom, Jacksonville, W, 6-4

Cade Phillips, Jacksonville, F, 6-9

Kyle Layton, Mountain Brook, G, 6-0

Alex Odam, Piedmont, G, 6-3

Kerrington Kiel, Ramsay, W, 6-6

Jacob St. Clair, Sand Rock, G, 6-2

Tyson Sexton, Scottsboro, G, 6-5

Zach Gray, Spain Park, W, 6-6

Wind Miller, Vestavia Hills, G, 6-4


Jaden Nixon, Autaugaville, G, 6-4

Tyler Thomas, Cottage Hill, F, 6-6

Trent Thomas, Cottage Hill, F, 6-6

Thomas Dowd, Dothan, C, 6-7

Patrick Screws, Eufaula, C, 6-6

Tyler Mallory, Greenville, G, 5-7

Terrin Brown, Highland Home, F, 6-4

Keldric Faulk, Highland Home, F, 6-6

Jayron Merrill, Jackson, G, 6-3

Zidkiah Edmond, Jeff Davis, G, 6-0

Ketwan Reeves, Jeff Davis, G, 5-10

JaSaveion Moore, Loachapoka, G, 6-2

Antonio Jackson, Blount, G, 6-2

Johntarius Green, Montgomery Catholic, G, 6-0

Devyn Pearman, Smiths Station, G, 5-9

Leave a Comment