All-Greater Houston girls basketball team

Dixon had high expectations for his team that went into the season and the Bulldogs delivered. Summer Creek was one of the top-ranked teams in the state throughout the year, battling through a tough Region III-6A to reach the state semifinals for the second time in the program’s history. The Bulldogs eventually fell short against the South Grand Prairie in San Antonio, 65-41. Summer Creek completed yet another banner campaign with an overall record of 38-3 and has written a mark of 151-28 in five seasons under Dixon.

Newcomer of the year: Andrea Sturdivant, Fr., Fort Bend Austin

Sturdivant has been a revelation to the Bulldogs since she first set foot on the field to begin her high school career. As a novice, keeping the point guard spot down, she took a lot of responsibility on her shoulders and thrived. Sturdivant averaged 17.1 points, four rebounds, 3.5 assists and 3.1 steals per game while shooting 44 percent from the floor. Her contribution helped Austin reach the regional quarterfinals for the first time in the school’s history. The Bulldogs finished with an overall record of 29-6.

First team

G – Jordyn Marshall, Sr., Manvel (19 ppg, 4 rpg, 4 apg, 3 spg)
G – New Threatt, Sr., Dulles (15.9 ppg, 4.6 rpg, 4.3 spg, 4.1 apg, 51 FG%)
G – Imani Ivery, Sr., Foster (17.7 ppg, 5.3 rpg, 5.3 spg, 4.3 apg, 44 FG%)
F – Justice Carlton, Soph., Seven Lakes (25.5 ppg, 10 rpg, 3 bpg, 2 apg, 69 FG%)
F – RyLee Grays, Jr., Pearland (19 ppg, 11 rpg, 2 apg, 2 spg, 1 bpg, 52 FG%)

Second team

G – Bree Riley, Fr., Grand Oaks (18 ppg, 3.3 rpg, 3.5 rpg, 3.2 apg, 37 FG%)
G – Macy Spencer, Jr., Tompkins (16.5 ppg, 3.7 rpg, 3 apg, 2.9 spg, 49 FG%, 40.2 3-pt FG%)
F – Gabby Johnson, Sr., Fort Bend Austin (17.8 ppg, 9.9 rpg, 2.2 spg, 1.9 bpg, 43 FG%)
F – Katelyn Kabrich, Jr., Tomball Memorial (20 ppg, 9 rpg, 1.7 apg, 1.6 spg, 51 FG%)
F – Natalia Gray, Fr., Alief Taylor (18.9 ppg, 10.3 rpg, 2 spg, 1.9 bpg, 40 FG%)

Third team

G – Brooklin Brown, Sr., Shadow Creek (14.6 ppg, 6.8 rpg, 2 apg, 2.7 spg, 46 FG%)
G – R’Mani Taylor, Sr., Shadow Creek (14 ppg, 4.4 apg, 4.5 rpg, 2.8 spg, 47 FG%)
F – Nicki Polocheck, Soph., Memorial (14.9 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 2.4 spg, 50.4 FG%)
F – Gwen McGrew, Soph., Pasadena Memorial (19.9 ppg, 7.6 rpg, 3.1 apg, 2.8 spg, 39 FG%)
F – Melinda Winston, Soph., Hastings (19 ppg, 9.1 rpg, 4.8 spg, 1.8 apg, 1.7 bpg, 37 FG%)

Private school team

Player of the Year: Dalanna Carter, Jr., Lutheran North

Carter had another sensational season for the Lions on their quest for another TAPPS Class 3A state championship in a row. The junior guard certainly did his thing, with an average of 26.4 points, 7.7 rebounds, 5.6 steals and 3.2 assists per game. fight while shooting 43 percent from the floor. Carter was a first-team all-state committee after helping Lutheran North reach the top of the mountain again. She was unstoppable at the state tournament, scoring 37 and 29 points, respectively, in the semifinals and championship matches.

Coach of the year: John Slomcheck, Lutheran North

Slomcheck and the Lions were the team to beat all season after taking the crown last year. Lutheran North reacted in a big way as it meant the most, beating their four playoff opponents by an average of 29 points per game. match. With a list of mostly upper-class men, the Lions had the experience of performing under pressure at the state tournament. It turned out as they rolled to a 74-53 victory over Rosehill Christian in the semifinals and a 63-37 thumping of the North Dallas Adventist in the championship.

Newcomer of the year: Chifum Ibekwe, Fr., St. Thomas Episcopal

Ibekwe was a major contributor during his first high school season and helped St. Thomas in reaching the regional playoffs. The 5-foot-8 freshman guard averaged 12.4 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.2 steals and 1.3 assists per game while shooting 41 percent from the floor. She scored a season-high 22 points against First Baptist Christian and collected 16 points in both Saints’ playoff games.

First team

G – Maddie Steed, Sr., Legacy Prep (17.2 ppg, 7.2 apg, 6.8 spg, 5.5 rpg, 46 FG%)
G – Zachara Perkins, Soph., St. Pius X (23.9 ppg, 12.5 rpg, 4.2 bpg, 3 apg, 48 FG%)
F – Makynna Robbins, Soph., Lutheran South (18.2 ppg, 11.3 rpg, 2.9 spg, 44 FG%)
F – D’Asia Thomas, Jr., Houston Christian (18.6 ppg, 9.2 rpg, 576 pts, 256 FGM)
F – Loghan Johnson, Jr., Houston Christian (19.2 ppg, 6.4 rpg, 614 pts, 250 FGM)

Second team

G – Sydney Ward, Sr., The Village School (11.9 ppg, 6.5 rpg, 2.9 spg, 2.8 apg, 39 FG%)
G – Jennah Savage, Sr., St. Thomas Episcopal (22.1 ppg, 3.7 rpg, 3.7 rpg, 1.9 apg, 45 FG%)
G – Madeline Mueller, Sr., Concordia Lutheran (17.5 ppg, 4 apg, 3 spg)
F – Tobi Ademuwagun, Jr., The Village School (13.5 ppg, 9.5 rpg, 2.1 spg, 48 FG%)
F – Olivia Sauvageau, Soph., Second Baptist (14.1 ppg, 3 spg, 2.4 rpg, 2 apg, 44.6 FG%)

Leave a Comment