Austin, Dulles, George Ranch land 20-6A basketball awards

The top three girls basketball teams in District 20-6A gathered to claim their four awards, which were voted by the district coaches. Co-champion Austin achieved two honors after the best season in the school’s history.

Senior Gabby Johnson was recognized as the most valuable player, and novice Andrea Sturdivant was named Newcomer of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to a record of 29-6 and their first area championship.

Johnson ended a fantastic four-year university career with 17.8 points, 9.9 rebounds and 1.9 blocks per game. match as well as 2.2 steals and 1.5 assists while shooting 43 percent from the field. She had 15 double-doubles, highlighted with 26 points, 11 rebounds and eight steals against Jersey Village, as well as a combined 49 points and 37 rebounds in two district games against Ridge Point.

Sturdivant averaged 17.1 points and 4.0 rebounds, while leading the team with 3.5 assists and 3.1 steals per game, making 31 percent of her three-point attempts, in an impressive college debut. She brought in 34 points against Stratford, recorded a season-high 10 assists against Ridge Point and finished with 26 points and eight steals against Friendswood.

The Bulldogs finished 13-1 in 20-6A, matching 2021 champion Dulles, defeating Cinco Ranch 63-50 and Memorial 62-48 to win their first area championship.

George Ranch senior point guard Savannah Velasquez achieved an offensive MVP of 20-6A, closing her own excellent career by leading the Longhorns to a record of 19-12 and the playoffs. George Ranch finished 9-5 for No. 3 in the playoff seed from 20-6A and took 19-6A co-champion Tompkins to overtime, led by Velasquez’s 15 points.

Dulles senior Dai Dai Powell achieved a 20-6A defensive MVP after averaging a career-high 10.5 points, along with 3.6 rebounds, 1.9 assists, 2.9 steals and 1.0 blocks to finish an impressive four-year-old university career. She had the season-best 20 points against Atascocita and recorded a double-double against Marshall with 13 points and 11 steals.

Dulles followed his 24-1 season with a record of 27-7 and an even deeper playoff. The Vikings took the No. 2 seed into the postseason and defeated Katy 51-47, defending regional champion Cypress Creek 55-42 and Tompkins 64-59 to reach the Region III-6A tournament for the first time since 2009.

The Vikings had three first-team picks throughout the district as seniors Jakiaya Thompson (8.9 points, 3.2 rebounds, 2.7 steals, 1.8 assists), Nya Threatt (15.9 points, 4.6 rebounds, 4.1 assists , 4.3 steals) and Peyton Overton (10.3 points), 5.9 rebounds, 1.8 assists, 1.7 steals) entered the top group.

Austin was represented on the first team by junior Kelechi Dike, who averaged 6.7 points, 7.3 rebounds, 1.7 steals and 0.9 blocks. George Ranch had two first-team players in senior Rachel Okoye and junior Lauren Stevens.

Elkins senior Zaya Adagbada and sophomore Maddie Rhea made the first team after leading the Knights to the playoffs, where they broke a fourth-place finish with Ridge Point. The Knights finished 11-17, but won three of four down the stretch to rally for a postseason spot.

Bush had two first-team teams in freshman Jadesyn Hardeman and sophomore Crystal Schultz. Hardeman averaged 8.3 points, 2.4 rebounds and 1.5 steals, while Schultz led the Broncos with 16.7 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 3.3 steals per game.

Travis senior Kentarah Upchurch and Clements senior Jenna Ferguson represented their team on the 20-6A first team after strong seasons. The Tigers matched the Broncos for sixth place, while the Rangers got their win against Bush, led by Ferguson’s 21 points.


MVP: Gabby Johnson, Sr., Austin

Offensive MVP: Savannah Velasquez, Sr., George Ranch

Defensive MVP: Dai Dai Powell, Sr., Dulles

Newcomer of the year: Andrea Sturdivant, Fr., Austin

First team

Zaya Adagbada, Sr., Elkins

Kelechi Dike, Jr., Austin

Jenna Ferguson, Sr., Clements

Jadesyn Hardeman, Fr., Bush

Rachel Okoye, Sr., George Ranch

Peyton Overton, Sr., Dulles

Maddie Rhea, Soph., Elkins

Crystal Schultz, Soph., Bush

Lauren Stevens, Jr., George Ranch

Jakiaya Thompson, Sr., Dulles

New Threatt, Sr., Dulles

Kentarah Upchurch, Sr., Travis

Second team

Kambree Adams, Fr., Bush

Edyn Breaux, Soph., Ridge Point

Cecily Callegari, Jr., Elkins

Alima Diop, Sr., Dulles

Aminah Dixon, Fr., Austin

Leslie Forun, Jr., George Ranch

Callie Goodly, Jr., Travis

India Jackson, Jr., Austin

Morgan King, Jr., George Ranch

Kennedy Mays, Jr., Travis

Chelsea Osamar, Sr., Bush

Syndey Person, Fr., Ridge Point

Grace Smith, Sr., Ridge Point

Honorable mention

Brittney Adeck, Sr., Austin

Hope Adekunic, Jr., Bush

Amara Allen, Travis

Paris Anderson, Soph., Elkins

Ros Chidi, Travis

Sincere Cobbin, Soph., Bush

Hannah Cornelius, Sr., Elkins

Taylor Gerard, Soph., Dulles

Ashley Howard, Sr., Ridge Point

Kayli Johnson, Sr., Dulles

Amber Kirkpatrick, Sr., Austin

Jordyn Mays, Travis

Kathleen Mbatchou, Sr., Elkins

Sasha McCants, Fr., Ridge Point

Isabella Rebueno, Sr., Austin

Logan Riley, Soph., George Ranch

Gbemisola Samuel, Sr., Bush

Leave a Comment