Beechers Carmelo Harris leads Division 3 all-state basketball team – Macomb Daily

By Brendan Savage

For the fourth season in a row, a Flint Beecher point guard has been named Michigan Associated Press Division 3 Player of the Year in boys basketball.

The 6-foot Carmelo Harris received the honor by voting by the AP’s panel of eight sports writers from across the state.

He follows former teammates Jalen Terry and Keyon Menifield as players of the year. Terry won the award in 2019 and 2020. Menifield won the final year after leading the Bucs to the state title.

Harris, a four-year starter, was the first team in the All-State in 2021 and is an example of leadership as a four-year captain.

Surprisingly, with his skills and 3.8 grade point average, he has only five college offers from Wayne State, Northwood University, Davenport University, Mott Community College and Macomb Community College.

First-year Beecher coach Marquise Gray, who played in Michigan State, said Harris is a victim of current college players getting an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19 and players who are on the transfer portal after using at least one years of playing college basketball.

“It’s easier for a coach at that level to take a child from the portal who has had a year of college experience, as opposed to getting one from high school and then having to teach them college life and get them to adapt,” he said. Gray. “But that kid has done everything right, not just basketball but academics as well. I just think it’s a crying shame. He approaches the game like a professional.”

Harris and Beecher were ranked No. 1 by The AP all season. The Bucs finished with a 22-3 record with the only defeats of the regular season against Division 1 schools Detroit Martin Luther King, who was ranked No. 1 at the time, and the final state finalist Grand Blanc, 2021 Division 1 state champion .

The Bucs reached the state semifinals before losing in a rebellion against eventual state champion Schoolcraft.

Harris led the Flint area by scoring 27 points per game. fight, while also having seven assists on average.

He had two of his best games against two of the Flint area’s top teams, scoring 25 points and having seven assists in a 66-63 victory over Division 1 Carman-Ainsworth before a 34-point performance and seven assists against the Grand Blanc in the regular season finale.

For four seasons, Harris helped Beecher with a record of 81-9 in the regular season and an 18-2 postseason. The Bucs won four district championships and three regional titles in that stretch.

Harris has considered going to a preparatory school next season and reclassifying, but he would prefer to start college right away at a Division 1 college.

“I’m grateful for what I have right now, but my goal is to play D1,” Harris said. “But I’m grateful for what I have. I’m going to go out there and play my hardest, and if (something) comes from it, it’s all from playing my heart out.”

First-team All-State

Carmelo Harris, Flint Beecher, Sr.

Tyler DeGroote, Schoolcraft, Sr.

Malik Olafioye, Ecorse, Jr.

Kaden Johnson, Hartford, Sr.

Ty Ryske, School Crafts, Sr.

Evan Solomon, Charlevoix, Sr.

Daquan Coleman, Burton Bendle, Sr.

Aidan Bellisle, Menominee, Sr.

Jamison Eklund, Pewamo-Westphalia, Jr.

Robert Lee, Flint Beecher, Jr.

Coach of the year

Sam Larson, Menominee

Second team All-State

Wyatt Nausadis, Traverse City St. Francis, Jr.

Michael Calhoun, Riverview Gabriel Richard, Sr.

Patrick Kombo, Ypsilanti Arbor Prep, Sr.

Jermaine Buckner, Vandercook Lake, Sr.

Jayce Warren, Bridgman, Sr.

Zach Carlson, Ishpeming-Westwood, Sr.

Ethan Swenson, Bath, Sr.

Derrick Kemp, Ecorse, Sr.

Owen Varnado, Western Michigan Christian, Sr.

Johnny Schutz, Painesdale-Jeffers, Sr.

Preston Marlatt, Johannesburg-Lewiston, Sr.

Honorable mention

Preston Malpass, East Jordan; Ryan Martin, Detroit Loyola; Kenneth Morrast Jr., Ecorse; Carson DeHaan, Grandville Calvary Christian; Zach Gritters, Pagt Christian; Joseph Hayes, Shelby; Ryan Young, Buchanan; Collin Miller, Marlette; Damarquss Troublefield, Reese; Tyler Swanwick, Centerville; Aden Hathaway, Bronson; Graeley Sprague, Concord; Quinn Zickert, Benzonia Benzie Central; Luke Hazelton, Maple City Glen Lake; Connor Simmer, Mesick; Nick Szczechowski, Riverview Gabriel Richard; Brayden Wilkerson, Grand Rapids NorthPointe Christian; Zach Reinsma, Wyoming Potter’s House Christian; Kyle Beebe, Ravenna; Grant Roberson, Marlette; Muclow Street, Brown City; Curtis Stanley, Brown City; Aaron Sowles, Bad Ax; Jacob Rau, Reese; JT Smith, Blanchard Montabella; Jacob Shelagowski, Hemlock; Levi Foco, Reese; Hunter Krohn, Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port Laker; Michael Gepfrey, Oscoda, Carter Patrick, Cass City; Jared Simon, Montabella; Omari Byrd, Ypsilanti Arbor Prep; Brady Wright; Jonesville; Colton Wiler, Reading; Blake Smith, Pewamo Westphalia; Eli Irelan, Reading; Alden Stefanovski, Whitmore Lake; Gibson Marr, Ithaca; Brendan Wood, Ithaca; Jalend Brock, Burton Bendle; Ambrose Horwath, Hudson; Marcus Hosner, Montrose; Max Muenzer, Lake Fenton; Ty Kohlmann, New Lothrop; Nate Childers, Benzonia Benzie Central; Jaxon Childers, Benzonia Benzie Central; Dylan Cragg, Grayling; Caleb Caul, Harr; Mason Malpass, East Jordan; Gavin Bisballe, Lake City; Joshua Lavely, Elk Rapids; Mason Travis, Elk Rapids; Adam Gerberding, Traverse City St. Francis; Kyler Larson, Kent City; Caleb Stuck, Charlevoix; Oumar Sy, Mancelona; Deshawn Martin, Detroit Loyola; Tyler Schut, Fennville; Wyatt Monette, Holton; Will Chye, Mason County Central; Trevon Jeffery, New Haven, Finn Klein, Ann Arbor Greenhills, Mason Smith, Carson City-Crystal.


Mitch Bohn, Sanford-Meridan; Randy Small, school craftsman.

Leave a Comment