Frozen Four Locations 2022: Details of Host City, Arena, and Tickets for NCAA Hockey Championship Matches

For the first time since 2015, the Frozen Four is heading back northeast.

Boston is the host city for this year’s NCAA college hockey tournament as the national semifinals and finals take place in TD Garden, home of the Boston Bruins.

The city of Massachusetts has been one of the most frequent hosts of the annual tournament. In fact, only Colorado Springs has hosted the event more time than Boston.

New England has been a hub for college hockey for years, especially Massachusetts. It’s a fitting place for the best teams in college hockey this season to gather around an attempt to win an NCAA title.

Here’s everything you need to know about the location of the 2022 NCAA Frozen Four.

MORE: When is Frozen Four 2022? Dates, TV show, locations, odds and more for the NCAA Tournament

Where is the NCAA Frozen Four played?

  • Frozen Four location: TD Garden in Boston

TD Garden is home to the Bruins and NBA Celtics. This is the eighth time the city has hosted the event.

It is also home to Beanpot, the annual college hockey tournament featuring the four major college hockey schools in the Boston area – Boston University, Boston College, Northeastern and Harvard.

How can you buy NCAA Frozen Four tickets?

Tickets for the event can be found on the NCAA’s website, in addition to a variety of online providers.

Options to purchase tickets include single-session tickets to the semifinals, single-session tickets to the finals and fan experience packages.

Where will future NCAA Frozen Fours take place?

The NCAA has already determined the location of the Frozen Four until 2026. One of the most notable is Las Vegas in 2026, as it will be the first time the Frozen Four is played in Vegas.

It also marks the first time the NCAA is holding a tournament in a state that allows legalized gambling since the association changed its stance back in May 2018.

2023 Tampa Amalie Arena
2024 St. Paul Xcel Energy Center
2025 St. Louis Enterprise Center
2026 Las Vegas T-Mobile Arena

Which cities have hosted the most NCAA Frozen Fours?

Colorado Springs, Colorado has hosted the most college hockey tournaments, with a total of 11 times.

When Boston got the nod in 2022, it pulls the city into second place with eight. Detroit and Providence, RI, have hosted the event seven times, and Saint Paul, Minn., Will have seven when it hosts the 2024 tournament.

Here’s a look at all the former host cities in NCAA Frozen Four’s history.

Colorado Springs, Colorado. 11 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1969
Boston 8 1960, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1998, 2004, 2015, 2022
Detroit 7 1977, 1979, 1985, 1987, 1990, 2010, 2020 **
Providence, RI 7 1965, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1986, 1995, 2000
Saint Paul, Minn. 7 1989, 1991, 1994, 2002, 2011, 2018, 2024 *
Denver 4 1961, 1964, 1976, 2008
Lake Placid, NY 3 1970, 1984, 1988
Milwaukee 3 1993, 1997, 2006
St. Louis 3 1975, 2007, 2025 *
Tampa, Fla. 3 2012, 2016, 2023 *
Albany, NY 2 1992, 2001
Buffalo, NY 2 2003, 2019
Duluth, Minn. 2 1968, 1981
Minneapolis 2 1958, 1966
Pittsburgh 2 2013, 2021
Syracuse, NY 2 1967, 1971
Anaheim, California. 1 1999
Chestnut Hill, Mass. 1 1963
Chicago 1 2017
Cincinnati 1 1996
Columbus, Ohio 1 2005
Grand Forks, ND 1 1983
Las Vegas 1 2026 *
Philadelphia 1 2014
Troy, NY 1 1959
Utica, NY 1 1962
Washington 1 2009

* = future Frozen Four location

** = tournament canceled due to COVID

When is the 2022 NCAA Frozen Four Tournament?

  • Semifinals: April 7
  • Finals: April 9

Both semifinal matches in Frozen Four are scheduled for Thursday, April 7. The championship match will take place on Saturday, April 9th.

Here is an overview of dates and times for the entire tournament:

April 7 National semifinals Michigan vs. Denver 17.00
April 7 National semifinals Minnesota State Vs. Minnesota 20:30
April 9 National finals TBD 20.00

How to Watch the 2022 Frozen Four

Frozen Four TV program

All Frozen Four games will be broadcast on ESPN2.

Round TV channel
National semifinals ESPN2
National Championship ESPN2

Frozen four streaming options

For those who want to stream Frozen Four games, they will be available on Watch ESPN and the ESPN app.

Round Live stream
National semifinals See ESPN, ESPN app
National Championship See ESPN, ESPN app

Who are the former NCAA Frozen Four champions?

Michigan has the most college hockey championships with nine. The last one came in 1998.

Denver and North Dakota have eight each, Wisconsin has six and Boston College, Boston University and Minnesota each have five.

Here are all the tournament winners from the last 10 years:

  • 2021: UMass
  • 2020: The tournament has been canceled due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Minnesota Duluth
  • 2018: Minnesota Duluth
  • 2017: Denver
  • 2016: North Dakota
  • 2015: Supply
  • 2014: Union
  • 2013: Yale
  • 2012: Boston College

Leave a Comment