Hobey Baker Award 2022: Minnesota State’s Dryden McKay honored as college hockey’s best player

Minnesota State’s Dryden McKay is the winner of the 2022 Hobey Baker Award as the best player in NCAA Division I men’s hockey.

McKay has had a historic season in net for the Mavericks. He set an NCAA record for wins in a season (he’s up to 38) and could add to that with a win in the national championship game on Saturday. In October, McKay set the NCAA career stoppage record, surpassing Ryan Miller’s 26. He is now 34.

He is number two in college hockey with 1.27 goals against the average, and his save percentage of 0.934 is a draw in third place. He was named CCHA Player of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year, and was honored with an All-CCHA first team selection.

The senior goalkeeper won the award despite not winning Mike Richter for NCAA Goalkeeper of the Year. That honor went to Northeastern’s Devon Levi.

Minnesota State meets Denver in the national championship game after Minnesota State defeated Minnesota 5-1 in Thursday’s second semifinal.

This is the first time a member of the Mavericks program has won the award when McKay beat Bobby Brink of Denver and Ben Meyers of Minnesota.

Brink has been one of the top players in college hockey all season. The Flyers election in the second round of 2019 leads the nation with 57 points and 43 assists. Brinks 1.43 points per game is also first.

The Pioneer junior forward had already won the NCHC Player of the Year and NCHC Forward of the Year honors, and he was the only unanimous selection for the All-NCHC first team. His 35 points in conference play tied the NCHC record for a single season.

Brink had the primary assist on Carter Savoie’s overtime winner in the Frozen Four national semifinals Thursday against Michigan to send the Pioneers to the national championship game against Minnesota State.

Meyers ended his junior year with a team-leading 17 goals and 41 points. He finished second with his 24 assists. His 1.21 points per game was the eighth highest in the nation.

The Golden Gophers captain was honored as the Big Ten Player of the Year and was a unanimous All-Big Ten first-team pick.

MORE: Sabers ‘Owen Power, Blue Jackets’ Kent Johnson agrees on entry-level contracts

Who has previously won the Hobey Baker Award?

The award was introduced in 1981. It was named after Hall of Fame inmate Hobey Baker, who played in Princeton before serving in World War I, where he died in a plane crash.

There have been 41 recipients of the award and no player has repeated. The most recent winner was Cole Caufield, who won the honor with her game in Wisconsin. He joined the Canadiens last season.

A look at the Hobey Baker winners from the past 10 seasons:

2021 Cole Caufield Forward Wisconsin
2020 Scott Perunovich Defender Minnesota-Duluth
2019 Cale Makar Defender UMass
2018 Adam Gaudette Forward Northeast
2017 Will Butcher Defender Denver
2016 Jimmy Vesey Forward Harvard
2015 Jack Eichel Forward Boston University
2014 Johnny Gaudreau Forward Boston College
2013 Drew LeBlanc Forward St. Cloud State
2012 Jack Connolly Forward Minnesota-Duluth

Which schools have the most Hobey Baker winners?

Minnesota-Duluth has the most Hobey Baker winners with six. The latest Bulldog to win the award was defender Scott Perunovich in 2020; he is currently with the Blues.

Harvard and Minnesota are in second place with four each. Jimmy Vesey received the credit in 2016 for Harvard, while Minnesota’s last winner was Jordan Leopold in 2002.

An Overview of Hobey Baker Award Winners After School:

Minnesota Duluth 6
Harvard 4
Minnesota 4
Boston College 3
Boston University 3
Bowling Green 2
Colorado College 2
Denver 2
Maine 2
Michigan 2
Michigan State 2
North Dakota 2
Wisconsin 2
UMass 1
Miami Ohio 1
Minnesota State 1
New Hampshire 1
Northeast 1
St. Cloud State 1

Leave a Comment