Local hockey players appear to be jumping on the US Hockey radar at next week’s HP Festivals – Post Bulletin

More than three dozen high school hockey players from southeastern Minnesota will take the first step toward putting themselves on the US Hockey radar next week.

A total of 41 local players – 22 boys and 19 girls – have been invited to participate in the Minnesota Hockey Spring High Performance Programs, which pits the best players in the state against others in their age group.

Players in HP’s spring programs have the ultimate goal of being invited to a USA Hockey National Player Development Camp in New York this summer.

The road to these camps starts next week, 22-24. April, at the Plymouth Ice Arena, featuring the High Performance 16 and HP17 tournaments for the best boys and girls players from across the state. All-Star teams are selected from each of the eight sections of the state, with each section’s team guaranteed to play three games ahead of junior hockey, college, and professional scouts.

Some of the best boys high school juniors and seniors from across the state have also been selected to attend next week’s Ted Brill Great 8 Festival at the Doug Woog Arena in South St. Louis. Paul. This tournament consists of eight teams of the best high school players in Minnesota. Four teams are selected from players who have recently completed their senior seasons, and a further four teams (named HP 18s) are determined from among players who have just finished their junior seasons and were born in 2004. The senior and HP 18 teams will be formed according to paired high school sections (sections 1 and 3, sections 2 and 6, sections 4 and 5, sections 7 and 8).

The 54 best boys players from the HP16 and HP17 festivals will be selected to take part in the CCM High Performance Final 54 festival in Plymouth from April 29-1. May. The girls’ HP Final 54 Festival will also be held from April 29-1. May, in Vadnais Heights. From there, players will be selected to participate in the United States Hockey National Camps this summer.

Here’s a look at the local players who have been selected for one of next week’s festivals:

When: 22.-24. April at Plymouth Ice Arena.

Local players on section 1 list (alphabetical order): Xander Carter-Kleven, G, Lourdes; Gryffon Funke, F, Dodge County; Frank Goodman, D, Mayo; Cooper Jacobson, F, Dodge County; Brett Ludvigsen, K, Dodge County; Andrew Mitchell, F, Owatonna; Connor Pirsig, F, Albert Lea; Aven Prodzinski, F, Winona; Mark Spurgeon, D, Owatonna; Robbie Tripp, F, Red Wing.

Main advisor: Eriah Hayes La Crescent-Hokah. GM: Fran McDevitt, Winona.

When: 22.-24. April at Plymouth Ice Arena.

Local players on section 1 list (alphabetical order): Owen Beyer, F, Owatonna; Mason Decker, F, John Marshall; Wyatt Farrell, F, La Crescent-Hokah; TJ Gibson, F, Century; JT Veney, D, John Marshall; Joseph Yoon, D, Albert Lea.

Main advisor: Chris Storey, Waseca. Assistant coach: Josh Storm, Lakeville South. GM: Fran McDevitt, Winona.

Boys Great 8 / HP18 Festival

When: 22.-24. April at Doug Woog Arena, South St. Paul.

Local players on section 1/3 HP Seniors list: Easton Hammill, D, Dodge County; Spencer Klotz, F, Northfield.

Coaches: Jeff True, Lourdes; Ryan Neuman, New Ulm. GM: Matt Erredge, John Marshall.

• • • • •

Local players on section 1/3 HP18 list: Tim Chalmers, F, Albert Lea; Mason Leimbek, F, Mayo; Jonah Ottman, F, century; Will Sexton, D, Mayo.

Coaches: Matt Erickson, Albert Lea; Adam Fries, Mankato East. GM: Matt Erredge, John Marshall.

When: 22.-24. April at Plymouth Ice Arena

Local players on section 1 list (alphabetical order): Samantha Bogen, K, Owatonna; Katie Cummings, F, Mayo; Jerilyn Eberling, G, Dodge County; Olivia Ellsworth, D, Albert Lea; Shelby Evans, F, Albert Lea; Sawyer Fleming, F, Shattuck (formerly Lourdes); Asta Griggs, D, Winona; Mollie Koch, F, Dodge County; Annika Torbenson, F, Century; Mikayla Wilker, G, Owatonna.

Coaches: Paige Haley, Dodge County; Dana Rasmussen, Dodge County. GM: Jeremy Gunderson, Dodge County.

When: 22.-24. April at Plymouth Ice Arena

Local players on section 1 list (alphabetical order): Molly Achterkirch, F, Owatonna; Avery Engbrecht, F, Winona; Delaney Fleming, F, Shattuck (formerly Lourdes); Kaelyn Frear Boerner, F, Owatonna; Ezra Oien, F, Owatonna; Margaret Petree, F, Dodge County; Abbigail Simons, D, Dodge County; Abby Vetsch, D, Owatonna; Sarah Wangen, F, Austin.

Coaches: Hollywood Hermanson, Dodge County; Emily Gunderson, Dodge County. GM: Jeremy Gunderson, Dodge County.

Leave a Comment