Which NCAA team has the most national championships in men’s basketball? – NBC4 Washington

Which NCAA team has the most national basketball championships for men? originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington

The 2022 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament will end with a blue blood battle in bayou.

Kansas and North Carolina, two of the most popular programs in college hoops history, will meet in Monday’s national championship game. That No. 1 Jayhawks beat Villanova in the first Final Four game, while No. 8 tar heels beat rivals Mike Krzyzewski and Duke on an instant classic Saturday night.

A program will add to its legacy through all time with a win on Monday, but where do the two teams stand when it comes to national titles?

Here are North Carolina, Kansas and other prominent programs with the most championships:

1. UCLA – 11

1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1995

The most decorated team in men’s college basketball history is in the City of Angels.

John Wooden’s team played college basketball in the 1960s and 1970s. The team won 10 out of 12 titles, including four undefeated seasons and a championship rejection for Wooden in his final season.

Twenty years after Wooden’s departure, UCLA earned his 11th national title by winning the 1995 NCAA Tournament.

2. Kentucky – 8

1948, 1949, 1951, 1958, 1978, 1996, 1998, 2012

Next up is another blue blood program.

Adolph Rupp led Kentucky to four national championships during his 41-year tenure as head coach. Since Rupp left school in 1972, four different coaches have led the Wildcats to their four most recent titles.

North Carolina – 6

1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, 2009, 2017

No matter how Monday’s match ends, North Carolina will have the third most national championships in history.

Tar Heels won their first title in 1957 and did not win another one until Michael Jordan and James Worthy joined. UNC claimed its third championship in 1993 and won three more in the Roy Williams era, which began with the 2004-05 season.

On Monday, Hubert Davis has a chance to follow in Williams ‘footsteps and bring a national title back to Chapel Hill in his first season as Tar Heels’ head coach.

T-4. Duke – 5

1991, 1992, 2001, 2010, 2015

Duke only had two title games before 1980. So. Coach K arrived.

After a decade at school, Krzyzewski and Co. won. their first title in 1991 and won it again next season. The Blue Devils collected three more trophies in the 21st century, the most recent coming in 2015. Duke is the only school with five or more championships since 1990.

T-4. Indiana – 5

1940, 1953, 1976, 1981, 1987

Indiana won the second national championship ever in 1940. It took 13 years before it won another title and had an even longer stretch before getting a third. Bob Knight then led the Hoosiers to three championships from 1976 to 1987.

Of the eight schools that have won three or more titles, Indiana has the longest active title drought.

6. UConn – 4

1999, 2004, 2011, 2014

That UConn Huskies won all four of their titles over a 16-season stretch. Jim Calhoun was in charge of the first three championships, while Kevin Ollie was the head coach most recently in 2014.

UConn has one thing that the five teams higher on this list do not have: an undefeated championship record. The Huskies are the only team to play in four or more national title matches and win each one.

T-7. Villanova – 3

1985, 2016, 2018

Villanova’s The first championship was one of the most unlikely in the history of the NCAA tournament. 1984-85 The Wildcats remain the lowest seed ever to win the national title, achieving the farm as No. 8.

Twenty-one years later, the school won its second championship thanks to an unforgettable buzzer beater from Kris Jenkins. It also did not take long for Villanova to get a third as it rolled to a national title fight victory over Michigan in 2018.

T-7. Kansas – 3

1952, 1988, 2008

Kansas has a chance to move up the list on Monday and join UConn in sixth place in all-time national championships.

While Kansas is one of the most popular programs in NCAA history, its three titles are spread out. Its second title came 36 years after the first, and its third came 20 years after the second. With a win on Monday, the Jayhawks would raise the national championship trophy for the first time in 14 years.

T-9. Cincinnati, Florida, Louisville, Michigan State, NC State, Oklahoma State, San Francisco – 2

Seven schools have won two national titles.

Of these seven programs, four defended their first title. Oklahoma State (1945 and 1946), San Francisco (1955 and 1956), Cincinnati (1961 and 1962) and Florida (2006 and 2007) earned their two championships in back-to-back years.

Louisville won three national championship games, but the title in 2013 was later relinquished by the Infringement Committee.

Leave a Comment